If you have a gluten allergy or gluten intolerance, you have to be hypervigilant about what you eat and drink. You probably constantly Google foods and ingredients to make sure they aren’t going to make you sick – or worse. But is chocolate that’s labeled “gluten-free” really safe for people with gluten allergies or gluten intolerance? Keep reading to learn more.

Only Pure Chocolate Is Naturally Gluten-Free

If you want to be absolutely sure that you’re getting gluten-free chocolate, you can make sure you’re buying pure, unsweetened chocolate that is derived from roasted cacao beans. This is the only type of chocolate that is naturally gluten-free. There are many high-quality chocolate brands that hand-craft their chocolate using only cacao beans, cocoa butter, and sugar, which are all gluten-free ingredients.

Read Labels Carefully

Many common supermarket chocolate brands have many added ingredients, including powdered milk, vanilla, and soy lecithin. You should always check the label carefully before buying chocolate that isn’t specifically labeled as “gluten-free chocolate.” If you have any doubt about whether it truly is gluten-free chocolate, you can check with your doctor, call the company, or just purchase a different kind of chocolate that you know is safe.

Be Aware of Common Chocolate Ingredients That Contain Gluten

You should make sure you’re aware of common chocolate ingredients that contain gluten. Common chocolate emulsifiers, flavoring agents, and add-ins might contain gluten. Watch out for these ingredients:

  • wheat malt
  • barley & barley malt
  • pretzels
  • cookies
  • rye, wheat, or graham flour
  • crispy rice
  • brewer’s yeast
  • bulgur, durum, or farro wheat 
  • malt, malt extract, malt flavoring, or malt syrup
  • matzo

At Zotter Chocolate, we are proud to carry a huge variety of gluten-free chocolate in our shop. We do not use any wheat-based ingredients or fillers except in our Gingerbread hand-scooped chocolate bar, which we offer during the holidays. People who are gluten sensitive, gluten intolerant, or allergic to gluten can safely consume our chocolates.